Rainbow Owls is a children’s story series, suitable for 2 years +. The first book introduces the seven little rainbow owls. It tells the story of Barn Owl and Tawny Owl who meet, fall in love and decide to make a nest together in an old oak tree in Wylde Woods. Their union is scorned and derided by the other woodland creatures of the night, because they are different types of owl.

But they go ahead and make a home together and produce seven eggs, which hatch under the light of the full moon. As each owlet hatches, Barn Owl and Tawny Owl are amazed to see their babies each represent a colour of the rainbow!

When the little owlets are a bit bigger, they sit out on a branch of the oak tree and all the night-time woodland creatures; foxes, badgers, hedgehogs, bats and owls come to see what these strange owlets look like. They think the babies are wonderful, and are sorry for their previous disapproval and unkind remarks.

The Rainbow Owls each have a very distinct personality, and characteristics which young children will recognise and identify with. The series continues with stories focusing on each of the different owls, combined with ecological or moral issues (e.g. humans dropping litter in the woods, being unkind to someone because they?re different, facing your fears, etc).

Rainbow Owls on Branch

The Rainbow Owls series of books has only just been written, and has as yet to find a publisher. The images above are purely for illustrative purposes on this website – a professional illustrator would be required for the series.

Rufus Red : eldest owlet, intelligent and sensible, but bossy and over-bearing at times.

Ophelia Orange : kind, considerate and caring, but a little over-cautious and fussy.

Yoyo Yellow : funny, crazy, zany, but sometimes silly and daft.

Gregory Green : gentle, sensitive, empathetic, but can be over-emotional and too timid.

Bertie Blue : brave, adventurous, fearless, but sometimes too rough and aggressive.

Indi Indigo : magical, dreamy, imaginative, but unrealistic and impractical.

Vinci Violet : cute, lovable and sweet, but damaged wing so needs lots of help.

About the author

Kit Berry and Owl BenchKit Berry is the author of the five book Stonewylde series, published by Orion Books, and popular with adults and teens. She is currently adapting the first book in the series into an adult TV series. Stonewylde has a huge following of dedicated fans, and focuses on Kit’s love of nature. More details can be found on www.stonewylde.com.

Rainbow Owls is her first foray into picture-book writing, and Kit feels the series has great potential for television too. Kit was a school teacher for many years, and understands how children learn important life lessons through story. She does many author visits to schools, giving talks and running workshops.

Kit is also working on a middle-grade novel for 8 to 12 year olds, which explores issues around humans impact on the environment and how much damage has been done.The next project after these are completed is an adult historical novel, set on the Isle of Portland during the English Civil War.

Kit is a pro-active author who speaks and teaches at both schools and adult events, and she actively promotes her work on social media. She is also entrepreneurial and understands the importance of creating a brand.

Kit’s own website can be found at www.kitberry.com


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


©2019 Moongazy Publishing Ltd

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?